How to move your Google Drive sync folder to another drive

Don’t want Google Drive to be synced to your C:/ drive? You can move it to another drive.
The downside is there seems to be no way to easily move it without having to re-download all the data again.
The default folder location where Google Drive stores information is “C:\Users\[computername]\Google Drive”. This is later referred to as the “old folder”.
- Right click the the “Google Drive” logo in your system tray. This is often on the bottom right corner of the screen.
- Click “Preferences”
- Select “Disconnect account” – this will stop the app syncing but your old files will still be on the computer.
- Right click the “Google Drive” logo in the system tray again
- Click “sign in” on the second page make sure you click “Advanced setup”
- Change the folder location to your new drive (not the folder must be empty)
- The files will now be re-downloaded from Google into the new location and your “Favorites” menu item will link to the new Google Drive location
- Before deleting the old folder I would recommend doing a file comparison using a tool like “Beyond Compare” as Google drive isn’t very good at syncing files sometimes – if you delete the old folder and don’t re-upload any files Google Drive has forgotten to sync in the old folder then you will lose them.